Life is a test. We are not present on earth to just exist; we are here to learn. Life is a lesson. Love one another unconditionally. Love thyself unconditionally. We spend our whole lives learning to do this. Some succeed and some never have a clue. I'm trying. Love my fellow man. Don't react and don't always have to be right. This is one I'll have to work on for the rest of my life. Appreciate each day and recognize positive and negative as a part of life's experiences. Look around me and see life at it's best. The joys of living come as you strive to achieve your dreams. Its the quality of each day that is important, not the distant dream once achieved. Teach and nurture my children. You can never give them too much love. -Randa Jex 1/1/94

Friday, February 14

Happy LOVE Day

Valentines is our favorite around the Jex house!  We are a hugging, kissin, lovey-dovey family so this holiday is just more reason to smooch. Austin is a hug-bomber, he will just run up to you out of the blue and plant one on you all the time.  We love it.  He is always saying "I need a hug and a tiss" and we are happy to oblige!  Austin has been so excited all week helping me create his valentines and most of all bake treats.

Hope everyone is having a special Valentine's week with your lovey-dovies!

This Valentine's I am beyond thankful for our 2 healthy sweethearts.  They are our world and they fill our hearts.  Nothing compared to 2 little people that need your love and love you so openly and innocently.  I am blessed to have a husband I am sure finds Valentine's Day a bit of a challenge because he says and does things everyday of the year that are so sweet, he's a 365 Valentine. It wouldn't be odd for him to come home with a little happy on a random Tuesday "just because".  That's just how he is, Randa taught that boy to love deeply and intentionally, everyday. Our love reminds me of my dad's parents, I always remember them hugging...kissing....dancing.  I feel so lucky to have a romantic marriage with a man that treats me like his equal, his treasure, and his sweetheart.

Zach got up extra early today to make me a hot breakfast before work and put it in a bag so I could eat it in the car, kissed me and said Happy Valentine's Day---- yup he has me pegged!  This morning as roses, chocolate covered strawberries and gift baskets were being delivered to my coworkers, we all got in a conversation about everyone's different "Love Language" and the 5 languages of love.  One girl said "I love special gifts", another said "I just want my husband to do something without me asking like fix dinner or put gas in the car", and one guy turned white with embarrassment as his wife hand delivered a huge gift basket.  I thought to myself "I just like to feel loved, words and actions".  We all have our different Languages of love, do you know yours?  I know mine....and I know Z's and he obviously knows mine, so that works out well. {there is a quiz posted below if you're curious}
Early Valentine's Dinner at the Castle Saturday with our favorite peeps, Rachel and Hunter!

The kids made a Valentine for some of their favorite peeps

Sweet Aunt Bev is at it again, we had fun opening our goodies

Austin's homemade Valentine's for school

Paleo Valentine's

Homemade cupackes for Austin's class, it was torture not tasting these.  But I had to take one bite just to make sure they are edible {and damn were they edible...mmmmmmm!}

Cupcake in a jar for Grammy to go with her chocolate covered cherries (her favorite) and when we got to her house this morning they gave us a sweet card, dinner on them, and mom made us paleo chocolates!  That was insanely thoughtful!

Chocolate Pecan Pie for sweet papa!  It's his favorite, this one had a pecan heart and just a "little" extra chocolate!

MaddyBug ready to go see her Valentine's (Grammy and Papa)
If you want to take the  5 Languages of Love Quiz, GO HERE

Interpreting Your Profile Score

The highest score indicates your primary love language (the highest score is 12). It’s not uncommon to have two high scores, although one language does have a slight edge for most people. That just means two languages are important to you.
The lower scores indicate those languages you seldom use to communicate love and which probably don’t affect you very much on an emotional level. Learn more about your primary love language and how to put it to use next to the corresponding badge below.
Not what you expected? If the results don’t seem right, discover some other ways to determine your primary love language.

Physical Touch

This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face – they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive. Physical touch fosters a sense of security and belonging in any relationship.

Quality Time

In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there – with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby – makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful. Quality time also means sharing quality conversation and quality activities.

Words of Affirmation

Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important – hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten. Kind, encouraging, and positive words are truly life-giving.

Acts of Service

Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter. Finding ways to serve speaks volumes to the recipient of these acts.

Receiving Gifts

Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous – so would the absence of everyday gestures. Gifts are visual representations of love and are treasured greatly.

Important to Remember:

You may have scored certain ones of the love languages more highly than others, but do not dismiss those other languages as insignificant. Your husband may express love in those ways, and it will be helpful to you to understand this about him.
In the same way, it will benefit your husband to know your love language and express his affection for you in ways that you interpret as love. Every time you or your husband speak each other's language, you score emotional points with one another. Of course, this isn't a game with a scorecard! The payoff of speaking each other's love language is a greater sense of connection. This translates into better communication, increased understanding, and, ultimately, improved romance.
If your husband has not already done so, encourage him to take The Love Languages Profile for Husbands. Discuss your respective love languages, and use this insight to improve your marriage!

No comments: